Hapag-Lloyd Cruises CEO presented with CLIA award

Accolade is icing on the cake for cruise line's most successful year ever in 2019

The prestigious industry prize for Hotelier des Jahres (Hotelier of the Year) from the German hotel and restaurant industry newspaper ahgz was awarded at the InterContinental hotel in Berlin this week. Around 1,000 guests attended the event, which brings together leading figures of the hotel industry to honour the year’s outstanding performers.

Karl J. Pojer, CEO of Hapag-Lloyd Cruises and Chairman of the CLIA Deutschland Leadership Council, received the Special Award, which recognises those who have made a special contribution with their success and innovation. Pojer has succeeded in positioning Hapag-Lloyd Cruises significantly in the marketplace with a focus on luxury and expedition and has enhanced the company’s profile.

ahgz has been rewarding outstanding performance in the hotel industry since 1990. This year’s jury was made up of eleven renowned industry experts.

Speaking about the decision to give the Special Award to Karl J. Pojer, the jury’s chairman and editor-in-chief of ahgz, Rolf Westermann, said: “Cruise tourism is booming and it is one of the most innovative and creative sectors in tourism. Hapag-Lloyd Cruises has found a niche with the absolute luxury of these floating hotels and is the leader for expedition cruises on the German-speaking market. MS Europa and MS Europa 2 cater for a maximum of 500 people and these ships are regularly awarded top ratings due to their high standards.

“Pojer has been leading the company since May 2013 and is also committed to low-impact cruises. The fleet will stop using heavy fuel oil from July 2020 and will run on marine gas oil with a maximum sulphur content of 0.1 %. The new expedition ships are capable of using cold ironing and are equipped with SCR catalytic converters, which reduce nitrogen oxide emissions by around 95 %.”

Pojer said he was “incredibly proud” to accept the prize.

“2019 was the most successful year in Hapag-Lloyd Cruises’ history. The award is the icing on the cake and an honour that I would like to dedicate to my brilliant crew both on board and ashore. The teamwork and our shared commitment to outstanding quality are and have been essential to our success. This proves that my motto is right: travel is the closest thing to paradise,” Pojer concluded.

Thomas, Michael and Ann-Kathrin Mack, co-partners of Europa-Park in Rust, Germany, were awarded the industry prize for Hotelier des Jahres. The gala evening was hosted by newsreader, journalist and presenter Judith Rakers.

Want to be in the luxury travel know? Subscribe to our free eNewsletter here to keep up to date with everything in the luxury travel industry.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WP to LinkedIn Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com